Newbie - Peeler Skiff

Hello All,

Just wanted to intoduce myself.  My name is David, and I am from Auckland, New Zealand.

I have recently ordered a set of Peeler plans and am looking forward to getting started as soon as they arrive. 

I'm a reasonably competent wood worker but have never built a boat before.  I'm fairly confident though - only nervous about doing scarf joints in the plywood as I have never done those before. 

I'd be really interested in any advice or 'lessons learned' that anyone can offer - plan or kit builders welcome.

Thanks in advance!

David

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Newbie - Peeler Skiff

David,

Spent a while in your beautiful country back in the 1980s. Loved it.

I built a Peeler Skiff, About Time, a few years ago and enjoyed both the building and the resulting boat. I use her in saltwater in New England and find her to be comfortable and stable. I built from the CLC kit so you'll have a bit more work to do. My primary advice is be patient and don't rush things. As you gain experience things will get easier and easier. Measure twice and cut once and if you're unsure about anything ask the Builders Forum and/or CLC.

I would recommend that you search the Builders' Forum for references to "Peeler" and absorb some of the collected wisdom of Peeler builders. When I was wrapping up my build, I posted these Lessons Learned. Another tip that seems to apply to many of the stitch and glue kits is, when stitching the sides to the transom and bottom, support the bottom at the ends and let the middle sag a little. Things will fit better.

Cheers,

Dick

Hi Dick

Nice looking boat - well done!

Thanks for the words of wisdom - I am indeed searching out all and any posts that are peeler related.  In fact all and any that are stich and glue related!  This forun is a great resource.

I hope to film some of my build process too, so hopefully future builders can learn from my mistakes.

Regards

David

David,