Resperator Advice

OK, so I've got my Eastport kit & I'm getting ready to build starting next weekend.

I've used simple dust masks but never a resperator. I think I'd like to try one on this project.

Any specific recommendations? I don't mind spending reasonable $s for one but there are plenty to choose from, some big bucks!

What do you use? Would you get a better/lesser one after the fact?

Thanks!

Frank

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Resperator Advice

Frank,

This is a pretty good respirator, I particularly like the ability to switch out particulate filters for organic vapor (paint, solvents, etc.) filters.

On our last project we used Festool sanders and a Festool HEPA Mini-Vac. That gave us a dust free shop. Only needed a respirator for hand sanding.

Cheers,

Dick

Dick,

Yeah, the 3M resperators look to be pretty much the standard. This is my first time working with epoxy & fiberglass, so I'm thinking of fumes as well as particulate. The ability to swap out filters is a plus.

Thanks,

Frank

Frank,

When we built my Peeler Skiff, it had been almost 30 years since my previous build project and I was very impressed with how much better epoxy resins are today. With the MAS formulations, that came with my CLC kit, there was zero amine blush and zero fumes and odors. The only times we felt the need for organic vapor protection was when we were using paints and solvents, not when working with epoxy (skin protesction is always necessary with epoxy and hardener).

When using stitch and glue construction, everything you sand off is dangerous to breathe. Use HEPA dust collectors or respirators whenever you are sanding or sweeping up or brushing off dust.

Cheers,

Dick