Varnish issues

Ok guys, I might be about to commit a cardinal sin here. But I am not really enjoying using Interlux Schooner Varnish...... Please don't shoot me :)! I have been working with wood for the last 30 years of my life as a hobbyist. I have used all sorts of different varnishes, polyurethane products, old fashioned shellac. I've never had a product “skin” over in the can like this varnish. I wish I had bought a can of nitrogen to use before I started but was unaware of this issue. So now I face a bit of a quandary. I have enough of the Interlux to finish my seats. But I will need something else when I start my Sailing components. It sure would be nice to buy something locally rather than having to order form the WWW and pay shipping. I think I will go down to the local Woodcraft store and see if they have anything. I can always use Helmsman's from Minwax. It is UV protective, easy to apply and makes a nice hard finish. And its very cost effective. Any other ideas?

Oh by the way, on the flip side of this issue, Interlux bright side paint was fantastic! Really loved working with that!!!

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Varnish issues

Interlux:  Impossible varnish.

I use epifanes. Never  a problem.

Ruud

i'm a couple of weeks away from needing varnish for my teardrop camper.  which epifanes varnish did you use?  what was the advantage over the interlux?

thanks

ken

���Use Epifanes, and store it upside down ...

Interlux: always stripes and bubles, dries too fast, impossible to work wet in wet.

Epifanes: no such problems. i use epifanes clear varnish (https://www.epifanes.com/page/clear-finishes).

If you can make interlux work and you are satisfied with the results, than the striping and fast drying is not an issue.

Ruud

I'm about to start varnishing. My local chandler stocks both Interlux and Epifanes. At >30$ / quart, I'd like to make a fact-based choice....