Does epoxy affect drop cloth? Are there drop cloth materials to avoid?

As a first time builder I am wondering what kind of drop cloth material I should be looking for to use on my garage floor. I have never used epoxy before. Will it eat through regular plastic tarp material?

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Does epoxy affect drop cloth? Are there drop cloth materials to avoid?

Epoxy does not eat through plastic.

I use polyethylene drop cloths that you find in the paint section of DIY stores. As long as the cloth stays smooth, the epoxy peels right off. Once the surface gets all scuffed up by you stepping on it, epoxy will stick to it.

A large roll of 6 mm will last for a multi-year building project.

Have fun,

Laszlo

I use cardboard on the floor. The boxes your CLC kit comes in are heavy duty and work great.

Joel

Polyethylene sheeting (visqueen by one common name) is quite slippery when walked upon as it's coated with wax at the factory to keep it from sticking to itself when rolled up & stored. The wax keeps epoxy from sticking too but adds to the hazard potential from slipping & falling.

Corrugated cardboard is safer in that respect but be careful to tape down edges & seams to reduce any potential toe-catchers.

My suggestion is to look for what's commonly called red rosin paper, sold in 3' wide by (usually) 150'+ long rolls to be used between subfloor and traditional hardwood flooring. Some outlets will have 6' wide rolls.

At $.02 - $.05 / sq. ft. rosin paper is half the price or less of plastic sheet.

"Polyethylene sheeting (visqueen by one common name) is ... coated with wax at the factory"

Source?

-if this is true, a wax contamination epidemic would have been going on since day 1 of plastic use. Every house painter, body shop, or "kiwi-preg" fiber laminator just retro-actively ruined their project...

Please, be careful with those facts!