Hiking Straps in Northeaster Dory?

I'm going to put a set of hiking straps in my Northeaster Dory fairly soon. Has anyone else already done so? I'd like to learn anything I can from their experiences before designing my own version of this minor improvement.

By the way, I have perched on the rail to keep the boat flatter in high wind conditions, and I've used some rope as a safety hiking strap (to avoid man-overboard). With that background I think I'm ready for something more permanent.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Hiking Straps in Northeaster Dory?

Sorry I have no experience at all with this. All I have to say is “I want to see video” when this is done!! I hope it works out well.

I'm interested in that video, too. I've got to have warmer weather (in case I capsize), a rip-roaring wind from the right direction, and a bit more commitment from my wife to become a videographer!   

I'm intrigued! 

I've often thought of putting some in mine for the very same reasons,...

I'd like to see your implementation...  do you have any plans to share?

Birch2 said, "...........   I have perched on the rail to keep the boat flatter.........."

If you're going to do this I suggest some hiking straps. However, holding a long tack in this position will likely be uncomfortable. Parts might be sore, weak, "asleep" when attempting a tack.

I singlehand my NE Dory a lot and found that in any serious wind i need to hike out when going to windward. This past summer i installed a hiking strap and it works great, makes a real difference in trim and in safety. (Sitting on the rail and leaning out, without something to hook your feet under and while sailing solo is a really unsafe thing to do!)