Fiberglass/Epoxy question.

I am getting ready to apply the fillets and fiberglass to my NE Dory. I have all the cloth roughly cut and set aside. I have never used this material before an I am a little confused as to the timing of events. After I lay down the fillets, then place the cloth in the compartments and wet it down with epoxy. The manual stated to trim the cloth at the joint between panel 1 and 2. When do I do this? Do I wait for the epoxy to cure completely or come back after a few hours while the epoxy is still somewhat malleable?

19 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Fiberglass/Epoxy question.

I am about 75% complete on my dory build. I have found that if you wait 2 to 3 hours just so the cloth is slightly tacky, you can trim with a razor knife with a new blade. My boat build is taking place in florida so that is my kick off time for my epoxy. Good luck and enjoy the build.

It's very slick if you can lay the glass down while the fillets are still curing, but this is pretty advanced and complicates what is normally for novice boat builders two completely different steps.  For example, I did these two steps on two different days.

Step one, make your fillets nice and smooth using the proper radius tool, then smooth them with a glove and denatured alcohol.  Make sure this step is successful as anything less than ideal can lead to a lot of frustratingly unnecessary sanding.  You can consider this a successful day in the shop, turn out the lights and sleep soundly.

Once you're happy with the filleting step, then proceed with glassing the inside bottom.  If your bulkheads are already in place, this is complicated enough.  On some of CLC designs, the interior is glassed with no bulkheads in place, which makes it a much easier process.  On others, each station gets glassed separately.