Wood duck 12 hybrid.

Hello everyone. I'm a 1st time builder and have chosen the Wood duck 12 Hybrid. I chose a hybrid because I wanted to use a stitch and glue and a strip build method. I ordered the plans and manual a few weeks ago and have been reading them and watching some of the videos on this site in preparation to start building.  I have a coupleof questions that I'm hoping to get some feedback on.

1 - what material are builders using for the deck forms? In the manual it states to use 1/2" particle board and in one of the videos for strip building it states to use 1/2" mdf.

I hate particle board and mdf is nasty to cut and process. (tons of dust) Is anyone using 1/2" plywood? It would seem to be a friendlier product.

2 - In the manual it recommends to not cut the individual parts out of the plans as some discreptancy might be created when tracing the pattern. The recommended manner to transfer the pattern is by using an awl.

In the video it shows the pattern pieces for the deck forms being cut out and glued to the form material prior to being precisely cutout. This method looks like the easiet and most foolproof way. I'm assumming this method is only being used on the deck forms and the "awl method" is to be used on the s & g parts?

How are others doing this?

Thanks in advance.

Schooner Dave

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Wood duck 12 hybrid.

Hi Dave,

My thoughts-