Chesapeake size and feasability

Hello all. I've been following along on the forums for some time now... I'm very much in love with the idea of building my own wooden kayak and have a couple of questions I'd like to hear others weigh in on.

First off is boat selection.. I'm primarily interested in some paddling on inland lakes (Adriondacks), possibly some shorter camping expeditions, and an occassional jaunt out on a few of the great lakes (Huron and Erie).

I'm a larger build (6' 1" - 185-195 lbs), shoe size 12.

With that information, I'm looking at the Chesapeake 17s and am leaning towards the LT. Any comments on that boat for my size and the needs described above?

Second line of questions relate to the actual build process. How hard is it to get a decent quality boat out of the project? I have zero boat building experience but have done framing and rough carpentry work (yes, I realize... they aren't the same). I've seen some posts mentioning problems with twist in some builds that sounds pretty alarming. What are the common pitfalls first time builders encounter? Is it reasonable to expect a boat that will look and perform ok out of a first time build?

Thanks in advance for your input. Look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Brian 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake size and feasability

Brian,

As for your fit in a peticular kayak - the best way to find out is to go to one of the CLC Demos and try a finished boat. Nothing is worst than not enjoying a boat one built. Nothing or no one can tell you if you will fit better that the boat itself.

As far as get a nice finished yacht - of course, folks do it all the time. 

As far as problems - also of course. That is what boatbuilding, even from kits, is all about. Solving the problems.

Can you do it? That is up to you. it is not rocket science, but does consume a bit of time and energy. Do you have those? Not everyone does.