Inexpensive wood?

I'm new to building but want to build a kaholo for myself and one for my wife. I've talked to people on other building forums like the kudzu craft message boards and they stress the need for good wood. They use baltic birch for their skin on frame builds, which is not easy to find. They also don't use glass. I will more than likely use clc kits for our boards but would mind doing a "test" board first to get acclimated to wood working since I'm a novice. Is there any wood available at home depot/lowes or a local lumbar yard suitable for a inexpensive build being as it gets glassed anyways? Thanks for any info.

14 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Inexpensive wood?

By the time you add enough glass and epoxy to make up for bad wood, it's cheaper to just buy the good stuff, especially if you count your labor.

It's over $70 for a quart of resin and a pint of hardener, plus the fiberglass plus the fillers and thickeners plus the sandpaper, gloves, denatured alcohol, stirring sticks, cups, etc. Depending on the quality of the wood, you could need glass on both sides, possibly even multiple layers. By the time you add it all up the cheap wood may not save you anything over the good stuff.

Good wood is also easier to work with. It cuts and bends better. The surfaces are usually finished better and the edges are square.

Now if you just want to practice with epoxy (glassing, fillets, etc.), the cheap wood will work fine for that. Some of the epoxy manufacturers, such as System 3, even sell a relatively inexpensive trial kit with small quantities of product, some glass and so on. Pair that with some cheap wood and you can get an idea of what's involved.

Have fun,

Laszlo