Hull panel damage - please help

Clumsy material handling in work-space took a serious bite out of a hull panel for my Ches17LT kit.  As you can see from the attached pic, I'm in the early stages of the build, but is still an embarassing mishap since the puzzle pieces and sheer clamps are completed.   The question is whether this blunder can be repaired, or will I need to replace the entire starboard half of the upper hull length (sheer clamps included)?  The broken piece is reasonably intact, but has such a ragged edge that seems problematic.  Any thoughts on this would be helpful & appreciated.

Thanks,

Larry

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Hull panel damage - please help

Neglected to mention that the damage measures about 10.5" X 3.1".

I am not an expert but that is certainly repairable.  If you are going to varnish the hull the repair will be visible but you will probably be the only one that notices.  If you are painting, just glue the piece in as best as you can and sand smooth.  If need be, fill any areas with epoxy/wood flour and sand again.  Once you glass and paint, nobody will ever know.

Just a quick anwer here so you are not stressing.  I bet one of the experts will be along shortly describing the best way to repair.  

Hi LTM,

I agree with mark's comments.  relax.  just glue the piece back as tightly as you can. wth a little bit of epoxy and cab-o-sil and you will be fine.

if you paint the hull...which is very common....nobody will ever know and it will look just fine.  a varnished hull finish is something you will have to wait until the end to sort out if it works for you.