Talk me out of a Northeaster Dory

Here is my situation:

• I'm brand new to boat building, and looking at a Northeaster Dory as a winter project this year. 
  • I have minimal woodworking experience, but generally handy with fixing stuff around the house. I'm starting near, but not AT, zero
  • Reading the instruction book made me a little nervous, but not enough to scare me away. 
  • Attending a Dory building class just isn't realistic for me - at least until late next year. I'd love to launch next spring. 

My boath requirements: 

• Easy enough for a first time build. 
  • Big enough to fit me, my wife and my dog
  • Small enough to easily launch on my own
  • Enough room to take camping with a friend and our gear (likely to the Boston harbor islands)
  • Will keep me afloat if the seas get rough
  • Car toppable would be nice, but not essential. Not having to spend $$$ on a trailer sounds great, but I'm okay as long as it is light enough to tow with my Subaru Forester
  • Primarily a rower - I likely won't install a sailing kit or motor

Trolling the interenet and reading the instruction book makes me think that the Northeaster Dory is a perfect fit for me. But I'm a newbie and know nothing. Am I wrong? Is there another boat that I should be considering? 

12 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Talk me out of a Northeaster Dory

I won't talk you out of it, in fact I'd encourage you to make the committment! At 100 lbs though car-topping a 17' long 5' beam craft might be a task better avoided unless you plan on having another able pair of hands available every time you plan an excursion.

These CLC kits are pretty easy to put together if you follow the instructions, even for novices. The brain work's been engineered out, the necessary skills are easily acquired if you're at all comfortable with hand and light power tools (sanders mostly here) and sticking to the requirements when mixing epoxy resin.