Expedition Wherry comments

I've recently completed an Expedition Wherry -- I loved the entire project; the boat rows beautifully; I have a couple of comments on the well-cut kit. First, someone should mark pieces that could otherwise be scarphed (puzzle-jointed) together backwards or upside down -- believe me, it happens! I'm a fairly experienced woodworker, and I did just that -- in the end I had to buy an extra sheet of Okoume and cut out two pieces on my own. It all worked out, but took considerable time. Second, CLC's suggested method for gluing down the deck by wrapping things in packing tape. It may have worked for someone, but not here -- I got partway into that project, wet epoxy all around, and realized we weren't going to get the deck down tight with the tape. What to do? The logical thing: pull out my battery-powered driver and a box of drywall screws, and get things into place! My girlfriend and I did just that, and it worked fine. Of course there were holes around the perimeter after things dried and I extracted the screws, but I plugged them and all's well. I even bright-finished my deck, and you can hardly see the plugged holes.

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Expedition Wherry comments

I launched my Expedition Wherry in the spring and am more than satisfied with her as well. She rows like a dream.

I thoroughly agree with the problem of holding down the deck. I started off using the plastic wrap on a roll but it had far too much stretch. It was a warm day and there was some anxiety because the epoxy was curing while I scratched my head. Switched to packing tape which did a slightly less than adequate job. I Had to leave town for a week and when I got back and tried to pull the tape off it left behind most of the adhesive. It took me many hours to remove it and no end of frustration. I have no suggestions regarding a better way but surely there must be one.