Kaholo questions

Just feeling it out a little to see if I want to embark on such a project (which looks fantastic!) so have a few questions...

1) Back of the napkin time for a build?

2) Is it possible to buy kits at demo days vs paying for shipping?

3) The 'Hybrid' type is going with different wood types joined together vs the marine ply?  Just not quite sure on the terminology here.

Thanks!

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kaholo questions

1) The estimate in the manual is 100 hours.  I am new to fiberglass, and my woodworking is more in framing/construction than cabinetry/finish work.  I would say it took me closer to 200 hours.

2) I don't know.  I would guess that you can order it and pick it up yourself, but I'm not sure whether they'll handle making sure it's cut and in stock waiting for you.  They may not even have a staging area suitable for such a hold.

3) Hybrid means that you will use marine plywood for the hull/internal construction, and then create the top deck from strips of wood that you put together lighter and darker pieces to make whatever pattern you'd like.  The normal version just has a plywood deck also.

-Matt

Thanks for the reply Matt, sounds like a lot more time than I would have guessed!  Was time estimate for the kit or did you make your own parts?  I am somewhat familer with glassing surfboards and fairly handy with tools and such but am not a woodworker by any means.

Thanks for explaining the hybrid thing for me.  Seems like it would be nice but probably quite a bit of time to get done properly.  I do like the look of wood so some kind of stain on the nomral ply would be fine for me.  One has to deal with the UV issue in this use case?   I guess just pick marine grade stains?  Not really super important I guess, I would just do whatever the manual says. :)