pictures of skerry balanced lug rig?

Hello all, It is time for me to start thinking seriously ablut rigging my skerry. Are there any pictures out there of a skerry rigged with a standing lug? Also , those of you who did rig with a standing lug, do you have a list of how much of what line and other bits you needed? It would help me a lot. Again, I am totally new to sailing, so this is one more thing i have to puzzle out. Thank you

John

19 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: pictures of skerry balanced lug rig?

Did you do a search on this site for "lug rig".  John has a good article on his lug rigs:

http://www.clcboats.com/life-of-boats-blog/lug-nuts-lug-rigs.html

Also, there's a drawing of the Skerry lug rig if you go to the skerry page and click on the link to the lug rig kit contents.

There can be more than one right answer to how to rig it, and you will likely change it some with experience, as happens with every sailboat.  If you haven't sailed at all, start with one of the beginning sailing books for general info and concepts.  Steve Colgate has a good beginning one, as does Annapolis Sailing School's book, and Seidman's "The Complete Sailor".  None are specific to the lug sail.  Also search Wooden Boat's forum for input on lug rigs.  They're a rather fanatical bunch of craftsmen, but there will be good info in between the flame wars over varnish and designers.