Group Plywood Purchase

Hello this is my first post on the forum and I'm new to kayak building. Being a teenager I don't have a whole lot of cash to spend on my woodworking projects but I have fallen in love with the idea of building wooden kayaks. But with the price of parts being so high I would like to buy marine plywood for my wood duck 12 I plan on building in a group to cut down of the price. So what I am inquiring is if anyone would like to get in on a bulk 4mm okoume plywood order that way everyone saves money! Also, the more people the cheaper it will be! Thank you. 

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Group Plywood Purchase

Korey,

One thing to be careful of in your group buys is quality. Be absolutely sure that whoever you buy it from is selling you genuine marine grade okoume, not the cheap stuff that will crack and snap when you try to bend it.

In the meantime, way back when I was  teenager on a really tight budget (my parents, bless their old-country souls, didn't believe in giving allowances) my strategy was part-time odd jobs for the neighbors. I was cutting grass, watering lawns and feeding dogs for them at $25/month/each.  That's $110 in today's money. 10 months of that buys a WD12 kit. The more neighbors, the more money sooner. I know that it has to fit in with school and stuff, but it works. If you're old enough, there's also part-time work at fast-food places, restaurants, etc. (I used to wash 2000 dishes a night for minimum wage many summers ago). It adds up faster than you think.

You might want to consider something like this in case the group buy doesn't work out, or in addition to it to get the cash for the other parts.

Good luck with it all,

Laszlo

There are problems with a group order,

1. People  cancel out when the money is due. You either have to be prepared to cover the cancellations or get advanced payment.