finishing idea for a NE Dory

As I mentioned in my previous post I am starting my project today and I was just considering the finish on it (yes I know I should probably finish the boat before I think about finish but what the heck...

I saw the video on using a decorative cloth under the fiberglass and epoxy layers.. really cool. I like the look of carbon fiber, though the strength is not really needed for my purposes I though maybe I could use carbon fiber as a decorative cloth.. I have never worked with CF before and all the videos I found go over CF with it's own type of epoxy stuff.. would this work the same as a decorative cloth? Or would I need to use whatever resin is required for the CF?

Also since I am not really interested in the strength aspect, has anyone found just regular cloth that looks like CF but is just a nornal woven cloth?

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: finishing idea for a NE Dory