Oops--help fixing a stripping error

Short story:  I have too much wood in the rear section of Petrel hull,

Long Story:  1) I placed the last section forms (go on behind the strongback) too low so the strips couldn't possibly meet them, then didn't know enough to twist and heat/steam the boards around the chine before gluing.  Before I pulled the hull off the forms it just looked like I was a little convex instead of concave.  By the time I repaired damage to the form from removal (and moved the last section to the right place) and put back in, one side of the shear had risen 1/4" and I had learned enough to want to fix.  I'm a newbie, and like all of you, what looked great for the first few strips doesn't any longer.

Any suggestions for repair?  My thought was to run a saw down the seams to remove material, iron the boards up against the form, staple, reglue.  Will this work?  I assume I'll have to release the strips from the inner stem, reglue as well?

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Oops--help fixing a stripping error

Guy,

its a little hard from your description to tell what exactly your question is....and how much you are trying to do.  a couple ideas from a fellow strip builder....

1) keep a digital camera/phone camera close by and snap a couple pictures of what it is you are trying to sort out and post with your question.  i did this a lot with my first build and it really improved people's ability to help.

2) its not unusual to have a strip or two that you want to undo.  a good heat gun is an important part of the arsenal....heat the wood glue...it will soften and you can usually pull it apart...may need a knife to help as well....when its soft easy to get a box-cutter type blade in there to finish it off....but i ended up 'unglueing' and regluing strips more than a couple times after i 'finished' and realized something was not where i wanted it.