Chesapeake 16

Dear reader,

Recently I became the proud owner of a Chesapeake 16 kit through a friend of mine. He had the set sitting in his garage for a number of years but never seemed to find the time to actually build it. As he felt he needed to part with it, I gladly took it off his hands: I'd like to start the build this winter.

Finding ways to check if the kit is still complete, I learned about its origin, the CLC-website and this forum. 

I am a boatbuilder by trade, but the world of kayaks and canoes is new to me; amazing stuff! Can't wait to start this project. 

I received the kit complete. Everything is there, just not a set of plans.The books are there, but no dvd. This is not an issue; i have found all episodes on youtube where John Harris explains the how-to's (It's quite funny, I like it alot !-). Also, the building-manual is included in the package.

My question is this; what are the measurements for positioning the deckbeam? I can't seem to find any info on this in the building manual...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards,

Hendrik jan Ledeboer

Zutphen, the Netherlands

17 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Chesapeake 16

I have the 17. It seems like there is a sketch or table in the manual that locates the deck beam measurement from the bow. I'll check when I get to the shop.

Hi Grumpy,

Thanks for the effort. Quick too.

This is what I can find in the manual:

- page 89 (Fitting the bulkheads):

the manual states measurements for the bulkheads (64" & 124" from the bow)and the deckbeam (back edge 93" from the bow) for the Chesapeake 17.

- page 80 (table 3)

This table gives maximum beam measurements measured from bow. For the Chesapeake 16 the maximum beam is 23 1/2" measured @ 104" from the bow.

As I read this table, I just read measurements refering to the basic shape of the hull; NOT deckbeam position, or am I mistaken?

Kind regards,

Hendrik Jan Ledeboer

Zutphen, the Netherlands