Attempting to install rudder on Shearwater sport

Hey guys, so, I'm building a shearwater sport for my stepmother as a surprise. My dad said he wanted to put a rudder on it for her. So, we bought the smart track system for it. I have a few questions. First, should I even be installing a rudder on this boat? I was reading somewhere that it's even questionable on a 16' boat let alone a 14' 6" boat. Second, how the heck do I install it? The instructions that come with it are very sparse and are mostly for removeing and replacing an existing setup, not installing a brand new one. I know it doesn't help that I've never used a boat with a rudder before, so I'm really not sure how they work are are supposed to work. we purchased the setup with the short pin mount. I'm looking at it and it really doesn't look like it's going to work with the shearwater sport, the hole I am supposed to drill looks like it should go through the hull. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am almost done with this boat but to get to this point and be confused as heck sure is aggravating. Thanks.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Attempting to install rudder on Shearwater sport

Suggest that you take a look at the installation instructions for the Feathercraft Rudder System.  Go into the boat gear section here and find the Feathercraft Rudder.  There is a link in the description section.  Generically speaking, you make sure that you have a big end pour then you cut off a little of the stern.

Adding a rudder is certainly an item of individual preference.  That being said, I could not find a single picture of a SS with a rudder.  If you look through the pictures, rudders are even rare on 16' kayaks.  My flea weight wife (novice paddler) does fine in her CH16LT without a rudder.