Contamination issue or what?

I'm sure this subject has been touched on before, but an hour of searching the forum, and I am not convinced I have the answer. First, let me say that I am new to boat building, but have worked with fiberglass and epoxy on many automobiles that I have made wooden dashboards, door skins, and other fixtures using, basically, the same techniques as are used in the boat building world. So this problem I am facing is about to drive me insane. 

I am using System Three Silver Tip epoxy and hardner, applied with a foam roller, and brush. Every time I try to apply a smooth finish coat I end up with, what looks like to me, "water beading", or orange pealing. I have smoothed out three coats (after filling the cloth) with 220 wet sanding paper, used wax/grease remover, and rinsed well after each pitiful attempt to achieve a smooth coat. The boat has also been allowed to dry about 8 hours before I attempt another coat. My question is...am I beating a dead horse trying to achieve this perfectly smooth finish coat, or do I have some unknown contamination that I cannot seem to remove? I feel I'm wasting a lot of epoxy, and wish to not waste anymore. My problem also lies in that every time is and a coat out I am to the point I am seeing cloth weave in some areas. I have not cut into the cloth though. I have been told that I still need to put on enough coats of epoxy until this does not happen anymore. I feel like I am spinning my wheels. Any help would be great. I am attaching a photo of my dilemma. I sanded just enough so that the problem would show up in the pictures. Thanks everyone for the help.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Contamination issue or what?

It looks like you may be the first person on the planet putting on coats of epoxy that are too thin. Everyone else tends to make them to thick. Congratulations! It must be the auto practice.