Denatured alcohol

The instructions for my wherry say to rub everything with denatured alcohol (methylated spirits here in Australia), but a test on a hidden spot left the epoxy soft and tacky. Is this step necessary?  Any experience? Thanks

Scott

26 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Denatured alcohol

Scott,

That sounds as if your epoxy hadn't finished curing before you cleaned it. Once the cure is complete the alcohol has no effect on the epoxy.

The reason to use the alcohol to clean the boat is that it dissolves oily deposits (like finger and palm prints), picks up fine dust and quickly evaporates from the wood. I've been using it for over 10 years and have had no problem with it. It's my cleaning liquid of choice for woodworking projects.

Just make sure your epoxy's cured and have plenty of ventilation.

Laszlo

Hi Laszlo,

I applied this epoxy several months ago (as far back as March - I know, this build is starting to drag on) so I can't imagine that it hasn't fully cured.  I have looked into what denatured alcohol is called here in AUS, but I wonder if the formula mightn't be the same.  I'll check with my local chandler and see what they say. 

Thanks for your help.

Scott

Sometimes if the 2 part epoxy mix is not mixed well enough or not enough hardener is used, the epoxy may never set.

Thanks for your thoughts.  I'm absolutley confident that they epoxy was mixed thoroughly.  I asked a friend and local shipwright and he wondered if the eopxy returned to a hardened state and it did.  I'm still wary, and I've asked this before, but is the alcohol rub critical?  Some have suggested soapy water and a good rinse prior to varnishing.   Any opinions.

Scott

I'd do a web search of your resin manufacturer and see what they say. In any case, it sound like your methylated spirits has something that U.S. denatured alcohol doesn't, and I wouldn't use it any more.