Mill Creek 16.5 versatility?

I'm interested in building a Mill Creek 16.5.  I'm new to boat building but I have a little experience in a variety of boats.  The Mill Creek design caught my eye because of her purported versatility.  How well does she really row, paddle and sail?  I'm not looking for a hotshot performer in any one category, I know that her hull shape won't really allow for that.  But I want to know if she preforms well enough so that I will have fun paddling or sailing her with my girlfriend or rowing her with a sliding seat by myself.  Any input would be much appreciated.  Thank you!

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Mill Creek 16.5 versatility?

I built my MC 16.5 to row.  At 16.5 ft she is shorter than one might want for purely rowing, but she does fit into the garage, which was a must for me, and frankly rows like a dream.  I have only paddled her as a double once and she did just fine.  With the open cockpit you can plan on lots of paddle drips in your lap, but the handling was great.  To paddle as a single you would wnat to be able to locate your seat closer to amidships than either of the two-seat locations, which I have not done.  Have no experience sailing this boat so I can't comment on that.  If you look at the CLC Main Gallery photos for the MC 16.5 you will see five or so pictures of my boat under "Paul G".  by the way, my boat came in at 65# which I can manage to get on and off my Ford Expedition alone.  I would be happy to answer any additionalo questions - I love this boat.