What tools? Where to build?

I am interested in building a canoe or kayak (havent decided) but as a beginner, I'm not sure what tools or workplace is required to do so. I'm willing to buy the tools and I do have a garage to work in, but it is not heated and I am worried that I will need to heat it in order to complete my project (winter gets to be -45 celcius on a really cold day). Is there somewhere that I could learn the basics? I have looked at literature but there is so many books to buy I don't know which would be the best beginners book.

Thanks!

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: What tools? Where to build?

Assumng you are working from plans, you will need pencils, a straight edge, a tape measure, a square, a batten for marking curved lines, a low angle block plane and a saw. The saw could be a circular saw with a thin blade, a jigsaw, or even a Japanese pull saw. You will also need a random orbital sander and lots of sanding disks. Painter's tape can be useful. You will also need scissors for cutting fibreglass cloth, and a utility knife if you have to trim the edges after the epoxy has cured. You will need stir sticks, containers for mixing epoxy. Those small yoghurt containers about the right size for me. You will need a squeegie for applying epoxy, and lots of disposable brushes. Don't forget gloves. I'm using nitrile. You will need clamps. Lots of clamps. Get even more clamps.

-45C is too cold. If you will actually be working with epoxy, the room will have to be heated. Well insulated and heated would be even better.