How much is varnish aesthetics how much is it for protection

I was just curious how much varnish is for aesthetic reasons. The manual just talks about how it will make people ogle your boat/board, but on here I have seen it mentioned that it protects from the sun and gives the board more strength. I was just hoping to get more insight, especially since I have seen a few posts of people who did not varnish at all. I am still planning on varnishing this week, finally, but I am just curious. 

Thanks in advance. 

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: How much is varnish aesthetics how much is it for protection

my minimum is three coats of marine spar varnish. Many folks go for six. I do not believe varnish does squat for "strength" but it is needed for UV protection or your epoxy will get funky rather quickly.

If you crave the ooohs and aaaahs  of the folks at the launch ramp, by all means varnish.  I was a professional boat builder and maintainer for many years, and I always recommended twelve to fifteen THIN coats of varnish to start and three to five coats every year after that.  Really.  Of course this was for yachts that were always in the weather.  Marine spar varnish has UV inhibitors which help protect the epoxy, but all varnish is sacraficial in that the sun eats up the varnish and before long the UV gets to the epoxy and turns it foggy.  Then it's too late.  If you car top your boat this will happen pretty quickly if all you have is three or four coats.  Marine paint is by far superior for UV protection.  So. to answer your question, varnish is 100% aesthetics.  I'm just now finishing up a eastport pram.  My, the grain looks beautiful with two coats of epoxy.  I'm going to use varnish....on my tiller.  Everything else will be paint.  Three coats and it's good for years.  It's a no brainer for me.  But that's just me.