Space between bulkheads and cockpit is huge -- how to fill?

See attached images illustrating large spacing between bulkheads and cockpit. Bulkheads fit nicely into hull or tight up against sheerclamps but not both, so i glued to the former and now I face the repercussions of my choice. Concerns about kayak strength or integrity? Ideas or solutions before attempting to apply epoxy with cab o sil to this huge space?

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Space between bulkheads and cockpit is huge -- how to fill?

This is my first build.I am building a Chesapeake 17. The bulkheads contained in the kit were too small, and didn't fit right. I noticed the packaging was labeled for the C 17 LT. I called CLC and they sent the correct ones and they fit perfectly. With out knowing what you are building I suspect you may have the wrong bulkheads.

I forgot to mention, your pix are not available.

I have no idea how to add images. The formum only gives me the option of providing a url to an image. Maybe because I am using a Mac?? The gap between deck and bulkhead is about 1/2 an inch.  I am building a Shearwater 14. Thanks for any insights you can provide.

I had the same issue, I wired the bulkheads in place (temp.) and used fillets covered by glass tape to fill in the gaps.  The epoxy and glass do a fine job of holding the bulkheads in place, and I don't think there's any structural compromise in doing it this way.

It sound like you already glued the bulkheads and you have a major gap, and you probably cannot remove the bulkhead.  I trying to visualize the gap is on the deck side by the sheerclamps per your previous message. If you cannot remove the bulkhead you only option is to patch it.