Peeler steering question

Using a center console on the Peeler, what is the best route for the push pull steering cables? Do the cables have to be mounted absolutely secure for the operation to work? Could I use a pvc tube thru the flotation tanks? Looking for suggestions and ideas. I have zero experience with this. Thanks, Ken.

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Peeler steering question

Look up the minimum bend radius of your push-pull steering cable of choice on the internet.  You'll need three primary bends in your steering cable:  from vertical to horizontal where the cable turns near the console's bottom to head toward a side, a horizontal bend to send the cable aft along the side, and another horizontal bend to go from along the side to the outboard.  Will all thes ebends be at a radius equal to (marginal) or greater than (better) the minimum speced for your cable?  If so, you're good to go figure out where you will be happy with placing your cable.  If not, reroute the cable til you at least meet the minimum spec.  Play around with a heavy piece of rope to get an initial feel for where to route your cable and (very important) how long the cable needs to be.  You'll be the pioneer, you'll have to fiddle a while or get expert help.  Good luck.