Handling the cockpit apron edge on a SH16 hybrid

I'm working on stripping the deck on my Shearwater 16 hybrid.  It's my first build, and I'm having a lot of fun and learning a lot.  The wife has already identified the second build that she would like, which is nice!

The problem I'm having right now is how to handle the strips around the cockpit apron edge.  On the front of the cockpit, it's no big deal; I am assuming the proper thing is to align the bottom of the strip with the bottom of the apron, and the when the deck is being planed/sanded later I can smoothly taper the top edge of the strip straight out from the top of the apron so that the glass lays smoothly. 

The back has me worried, though.  If I continue to align the bottom of the strips with the bottom of the apron, it looks like it will be difficult (or look weird) to taper the top of the flat deck into the flat apron.  It would almost have to be concave at that point.  If I align the top of the strips, though, I'll have to lift the apron off the forms to align it, and I'm worried that later when I go to attach the deck there will be a gap.

Any suggestions, or even better, any clear pictures of what people have done?  I've been browsing for pictures, but its hard to tell exactly what people have done (and most importantly how it worked out...)

Thanks, 

-Brent

4 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Handling the cockpit apron edge on a SH16 hybrid

I had the same thing on a SW Sport hybrid. In the end, with a bit of guidance from Fyne Boat Kits, I packed up the apron at the rear with a couple of lolly sticks (actually medical tounge depressors which come in boxes of 500). This lifted it up a few mm to make sure the strips hit the apron. I wouldn't worry about top/bottom of the strips lining up, I'd just recommend the plywood of the apron shouldn't stick out.