Newbie to sanding fiberglass - questions/issues

Go easy on me please - I'm new to boatbuilding :)

I'm building a Sassafras 12, and just finished glassing the inside bottom of the boat.  

It was my first experience fiberglassing and I didn't squeege out as much epoxy as I should have - so I have some areas that floated a bit.  I've got two coats of epoxy on top now and just started the sanding.

Here's what I am seeing for the most part after about 20 minutes of sanding - I'm assuming THIS part is as expected - lots of high and low parts, and lots of sanding necessary to smooth it all out:

But now the questions start :)

First, what's the RIGHT way to be sanding on the inside of the boat?  I have a nice 5" random orbital sander, but it's too big as the strakes get smaller near the ends.  Should I just use a rubber block with sandpaper and do it by hand, or a foam pad on the random orbital sander?  

Second, how obvious is it when I get down into the weave of the fiberglass?  I think it is VERY likely that I will given I had the glass floating in some spots, but I'm wondering how obvious it will be?  I can see spots like the one below, and I can see the pattern of the weave - am I down in the glass here already?

This one isn't as clear, but the splotchy oval in the bottom is smooth - which is maybe the edge of the fiberglass?

So I guess that's my fear - will it be pretty clear when I'm down in the fiberglass weave when sanding?  And, given obviously my fiberglass job isn't great - what should I do - keep sanding until it's smooth even if I'm in the fiberglass?  Or build up a few more layers of epoxy and then sand, or fiberglass another layer on top of this?  

Thanks in advance for the advice - it will be greatly appreciated!

11 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Newbie to sanding fiberglass - questions/issues