"The Canoe Shop"

I elected to build from scratch the 16' Sassafras canoe. I have some woodworking experience and a lot of fiberglass experience and build large scale model airplanes for a hobby. Given that, the stitch and glue method and this canoe seemed like a great project. So, I purchased the book and have read it cover to cover several times before buying any materials - I strongly recommend this practice before building any boat or kit.

Observations and upsets:

It seems like the author and contributors make too much of the making of scarfs and trimming the planks and one very big omission. Any of the methods of making scarfs will do fine, using a belt sander is a very easy and quick way to  do the job and is perfect for trimming the planks for an exact fit.

The one big upset I have is in the section "Cutting out the planks" on page 65 makes no mention of orientation of the plywood sheets to insure you can have a good side (flawless or at least matching grain) for the interior.You must place two up and two down to accomplish this. I will buy more plywood and fix the problem, an expensive solution.

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: "The Canoe Shop"

What is easy for you may not be for others.  I am on my 3rd yak and am making scarfs for the first time.  All that was mentioned in my manual was using a plane.  Didn't like that, didn't like my router jig, my ros was almost the way....Tomorrow the belt sander.  Thankfully we have the forum for expert help.

Kim

Jimmy,

What do you mean by a "good" side for the interior and 2 up/2 down?

Laszlo 

My comment on plywood - "The good side" means that every sheet of plywood has one side that is better than the other, could be color match, grain, whatever. I was dissappointed that there was no mention of this in the plans and instructions.