Guillemot "L" build

Hello all,

I am new to boat building but so far so good.  I have created a blog

http://marcsprojectpage.blogspot.com/

so family, friends, and anyone else interested can track my progress.  Currently I have completed the forms from plans which I purchased through CLC.  Next step, buy some wood, rip it, mill it and start stripping the hull.  More to come but I thought that I would post it on here for all to see and maybe along the way pick up tips/tricks or maybe even pass some of my tips/tricks along to others.

Thanks,

Marc

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Guillemot "L" build

Thanks for the link Marc.  I'll be keeping tabs on your progress and have subbed in.

For those following, or those who would like to follow my progress, I added a few posts for my build.  Enjoy!

Marc

http://marcsprojectpage.blogspot.com/

So far so good!  I am really enjoying building this one and plan to launch it next spring.  Once complete, who knows, maybe I will build a couple of other boats such as a Wood Duck for the kids.

Hi Marc

have you thought about the removal of your forms? I've seen that you use hot melt glue to fix your strips on the forms to prevent holes in the strips. So far so good - thats the same process Nick Schade uses and recommends for doing this. But Nich has mounted the forms on the strongback in a manner they can be shifted on the strongback after removing the parts that hold them on the strongback. As far as I was able to see on your blog your forms are glued (end forms) or screwed onto the strongback.

The build process requires to mount all hull strips and all deck strips before glassing the outer sides of hull and deck - and then hull and deck are removed off the form. This will result in a closed tube (yes, hull and deck are not glued together, but anyway) - and I think it will be very difficult to remove the screwed and glued forms then I guess.