Do I need to sand it clear?

So far, I have made one mistake. When putting together the bottom and side panels, I made the mistake of putting the strip of glass and epoxy on the outside of the boat instead of the inside. I'm sanding the hull now and wanted to know if I need to sand that one panel until the strip of glass and epoxy are no longer visible? I would prefer to varnish the entire boat. Would the strip of glass and epoxy be visible after glassing, epoxying and varnishing the hull? I don't want to paint the hull but I will if it's my only option of not bieng able to see the strip of glass.

5 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Do I need to sand it clear?

I have always put a strip of glass tape and epoxy on both the inside and outside of the seams when putting the two pieces of long panels together (I use butt joints because I'm not that good with making a scarf and I want to make sure the seam will hold through stitching).  I just sand/scrape the edges of the tape smooth and level.  The seam pretty much dissapears when I put the sheet of fiberglass over the outside of the hull.  There is probably a slight hump if you look really closely, but by the time you get all the fill coats on the hull and sand everything I don't think you notice it.

If you have any bubles in the taped seam you'll want to get rid of those of course. 

I did the same thing. I did not sand it clear, nor did I sand it as smooth as I should have. As I am nearing complete I am seeing that I should have sanded it complete or much better than I did. This is my first build and that mistake was made very early in the build process (months ago) and as I am nearing complete I will now use paint for the bottom and sides, at least in some areas. If you are going for varnish and seeing what I have done I would sand it complete.