Peeler Skiff

Like many people, I'm pretty anxious to get my hands on the Peeler Skiff kit.  I know I may be 'putting the cart before the horse' by asking this (since the kit is not available yet), but was wondering how easy or difficult it would be to have a remote steering/throttle console of some sorts just in front of the middle thwart?  I've built an Eastport Pram a couple years ago so I'm sure I could figure out how to fabricate a wooden console, but I have no experience with rigging a remote steering/throttle controls for an outboard motor.  Is this rigging doable / easy / hard?  If anyone has a link to instructions on how to do something like this, I'd appreciate it.

I did some web surfing and there's a Jericho Bay Lobster Skiff out there on the web that has this remote steering/throttle configuration.

Thanks,  Eric

17 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Peeler Skiff

Adding a remote console would be a very doable project. You first need to see if your outboard is now or can be set up for remote steering. Some outboards can add a remote throtttle with factory parts and directions. An outboard set up for tiller steering control will either need a factory conversion for remote steering or an after market one if available. This can get to be quite expensive. Unfortunately for me, I had to buy a new 4cycle Yamaha 15hp engine which are no longer available with factory installed remote steering and the after market unit will cost well in excess of $1K for the conversion kit, Telex remote steering unit and cable and remote throttle control and cable plus installation labor. What ever you do, make sure you fully understand how much it will cost you for your remote steering kit all up.