Solid Wood on Wherry

I'm building a wherry and want to replace some of the ply components with solid timber.  I'm going to use King Billy Pine (a Tasmanian timber that has traditionally been used in boatbuilding), but here's my question: I want to use it for the fore and aft decks, but am concerned about fixing the timber in place with epoxy without any allowance for movement (I'm a furniture maker by profession so know all about timber movement).  Should I stick with the ply and and all its relative stability or risk the solid and ll its beauty?  Has anyone else done the same?  Advice, warnings, caveats?  Thanks,

Scott

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Solid Wood on Wherry

Interesting question. I would think if the wood has been sufficiently dried and you coated it fully with epoxy (top, bottom and sides) that the piece would be stable for a long time.

Saturating solid timbers with epoxy will reduce the movement but not eliminate it. Depending on how wide and thick the plank is also a factor. I have had a solid 3/4 " deck of mahagony split open with movement after thinking epoxy would seal it. Don't get rid of the plywood deck. Mill your pine to an 1/8" - 1/4" thickness and cover the plywood with them. If you want thicker planks without ply backing I've had good luck using 3/4 X 3/4 strips edgenailed or glued. Will still move around a bit though - but not much. Wooden Boat Magazine recently had an article on decks.

Recently built a Wherry.  This boat design is tight- once you've got the boat built there seems to be essentially no flex or twisting action under the normal forces during use.  I suppose you could invent a machine to torque it, or just drop it from a cliff or something like that.  Otherwise I don't think you are going to see the forces that would crack that wood- unless you made it just too thin.

I like Roberts idea of essentially using the Tasmanian Pine as a veneer over the ply, though.

Hickory