The Best Hatch Type

I know the best hatch type is the one that doesn’t leak.

But seriously,  I’m new to building kayaks and have done some research in this forum and others but still am not settled on what hatch type I want to use. But I digress…

Last summer my wife and I bought rec kayaks, she a Wilderness 120 and me a Wilderness 125.  After going down numerous rivers in Michigan we ended up buying, late in the summer, used Neckys, hers a Comp Eliza 154 and my the Chatham 17.  I was hooked and I love that boat.

Over the winter, she saw my interest in kayaking and suggested I build one.  Boy did she mess up!  I ended up buying a Pygmy Murrelet 17.  I getting close to the point of adding the hatches, probably the scariest part of building a kayak I guess.

Anyhow, I was hoping you all could help me figure out which way to go.

Below is what I’ve learned so far in regards to Hatches

Flush Type

1. Straps On Top
  2. Magnetic
  3. Bungee
  4. Rod from the cockpit

Non Flush Type:

1. Store Bought Frames with Rubber Lids
  2. Build your own Frame with Wooden Lid

Straps on Top  - That’s what my kit came with.  Two things I don’t like about it, the straps don’t look the best and the gasket is mightly holy, not the church kind.  I read some use minicell instead.

Magnetic  - Can you really get a leak free lid? And where do you get those magnets?

Bungee – Looks good but doesn’t the bungee lose it’s strength from being taut?

Rod from cockpit  - I saw this at a show.  Looks great but is complicated and the guy said he never tested it.

Store bought with Rubber Lids – These work great as I can attest with my Chatham but they don’t look  the best on a wooden boat.

Build your own with Wooden Lid – Looks better that above but not the flush type.

Any help would be appreciated.  I am currently eyeing the Guillemot for my next build for a greater challenge

Thanks,

Kim

17 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: The Best Hatch Type