Help!!! A challenge

OK, I'm a little embarrassed to be posting this but if anyone can help I thought this would be the place.  First, I am a novice builder.  I've built one Kayak from Chesapeake plans that has really turned out nice.  I wanted to build a smaller version of the boat for my son who only weighs about 50 pounds.  I looked through plans and didn't really find what I was looking for.  I wanted something small, easily maneuvered and stable, as well as super light.  So, I sort of drew out what I was looking for on paper, built some forms and then used cedar strips for the hull/deck.  What turned out is really pretty, terribly light and strong.  My worst fear when I did this was that I would put the boat in the water and it would sink to the bottom of the lake with my son in it.  Quite the opposite is what is happening.  It floats, too well.  It sits on top of the water and is so unstable that any movement at all tips it over.  So, I think I realize my error, my question is can I make it more stable or do I just have to scrap it altogether?  I did put a keel on the bottom of it which helped but it is still tippy.  I've thought of some kind of outrigger system or maybe add couple of additional keels to the bottom, or even drilling out the keel and adding some lead ballast.  Anyway, if anybody really wants to take on the project of helping me out I could take some pictures and email them to you.  Also, lesson learned on the whole plans thing so don't go there.  Look forward to a response to the challenge.  Help me save my son.

shawn 

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Help!!! A challenge

Hi Shawn,