committing to the shape of the boat, beginner questions

Hi all, and a happy new year especially to all those running in from unheated garages to thaw out fingers. It's been a mild winter so far here in Massachusetts, but I'm just not accustomed to spending a lot of time standing around outdoors, basically, trying to build kayaks.

I'm a first time builder working on a pair of 10 foot Wood Ducks from plans. It's been a fascinating process so far, and although I may have already experienced just about every mistake in the book, I've just completed the process of getting both boats fully wired up.

My hope had been to get at least this far before easing up until warmer weather, then starting with the “frankenducks (as they look with all their stitches in)” once temperatures got more hospitable for glue. However the momentum I've built up by plugging away at it day after day, a little at a time, has me pondering ways forward in spite of the outside conditions.

Being a rank novice, it's actually worked to my advantage that I've not wanted to move on to the gluing, since, building from plans, I've had a fair amount of tweaking and reshaping to get through before the boats really fit together at all. I think I dryfit and wired on the deck of one of the boats five times before it went on with anything like ease and relatively gap free.