Kaholo strip build help

I received my plans today and can't wait to start the build - yay!!!  This is my first build and I have a some questions that weren't answered in the plans / manuel.  The manual only talks about bulding with plywood.  As I wan't to use strips I am trying to consider my options.

1) Do I use a conventional strip build where I add one strip at a time to the actual paddle board frames (I don't think the frames on the plan would work for this) or..

2) Do I make large panels out of stips as per the plans and then treat them as plywood panels, cut out the shapes and stitch them to the frames (I am actually thinking of using a pin nailer instead of stitching)?

At this point my plan is to use 3/4 inch stock by 14 feet, cut to stips of 1 1/2 to 2 inches wide, and edge glue together in the pattern I want.  Once I have panels approx 6 inches wide I would then cut them in half, bookmatch and plane to 3mm thick.  Then I can join these six inch wide planks to make the 30 inch wide panels I need.  

Any thoughs, comments, or suggestions appreciated,

Mike

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kaholo strip build help

Wow!   My only question or comment would be....why strips?   I would build it the way the designed it.   Actually will be ordering mine tonight and building it this winter.

Although the plywood board looks great, I thing that a strip board will look amazing. I am up in Canada so I have all winter to get it done for next summer.  I already have all the tools I need and am up for the challenge, just need a little help along the way and hope to find it here.

Mike

Lake Country, B.C.

Sorry I can't help you with that one.   Haven't done any strip board boats.  Did one CLC boat from just plans, one from a kit and doing a third one soon....just ordered it (kalolo)

Best of luck to you on it!!