Kaholo plans - ease of build and tools needed?

I'm thinking about buying the plans for the Kaholo SUP. I've only tried paddle boarding a couple of times but loved it. I also love building stuff and figured buying some plans and building by own SUP will be more fun and financially easier than buying an off the shelf SUP. That said I have a few newbie questions:

1) How easy is the Kaholo to handle on the water? I'm not looking for anything fancy and I'm a newbie to SUPs so stability is more important than outright speed. I'd do almost of my paddling in the Puget Sound where the water is very calm. 

2) What tools are needed to build a Kaholo from scratch? I own a tablesaw, small bandsaw, router table, jigsaw, orbital sander and a variety of hand tools. Any other (pricey) tools I'll need? 

3) How detailed are the plans? I've done plenty of woodworking (mostly furniture/cabinetry) but fiberglass is totally new to me. I do consider myself to be pretty mechanically competent having spent years working in bike shops and as a race mechanic.

Thanks! 

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Kaholo plans - ease of build and tools needed?

I've never tried SUP, but since it appears you're in the Puget Sound area, you might consider going to the Wooden Boat Festival in Port Townsend next weekend - CLC will be there and they have two of the Kaholos on the list of boats they've got.  I'm sure you could talk them into demoing one so you can see how it handles, and talk to them about the build process.  (http://www.clcboats.com/boatbuilding_classes/151.html)  Plus you can drool over already finished boats and cool woodworking tools that you can't afford. 

I'm about to build a Wood Duck from scratch (having done a Shearwater kit before) and I don't anticipate using any more tools than you have listed, but since I haven't done it yet I can't help there!