Wooden Kayaks and Concrete Launch Areas?

Hi All,

I am fairly new to kayaking and have casually kayaked on maybe 10 occasions. I am considering building a wooden kayak, but had a question about launching the boats into the water.

I will have access to a few concrete launch areas and I am concerned about how to launch a wooden kayak without damaging it. Below is an example of a concrete launch ramp. How would I go about launching the wooden kayak? Would I simply step out 10 or so feet into the water so that the kayak is free floating and then step in? Should I allow extra inches, e.g. 6 inches, to account for my body weight? Also, if I do hit the bottom of one of the Chesapeake Light Craft boats into the concrete ramp (or even into rocks while paddling), will the boat suffer much damage? Or, since the boat is entirely covered in epoxy, will this be sufficient enough to protect from scrapes and dings?

Many thanks, 

-Sean

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Wooden Kayaks and Concrete Launch Areas?

When I was in the boundary water with the scouts it was there policy to have feet wet before you entered the canoe.  I would say go with the same principle and get in when the boat is floating.  I have noticed most of the concrete launches to be extremely slippery and I try to put in on the side from the grass.

I get my boat fully afloat before getting in from the rear. I was actually surprised at how little water it takes  to float my kayak. As garret says, there is often a grass or sand area near boat ramps that might be "milder" to your boat's bottom.