Marine Grade or carefully selected Luan

Need some honest feedback please...

This is my first build and I'm building the wood duck 14'....

Boat will only be on ponds and lakes..no ocean surf.

If your glassing everything anyhow, can you use carefully selected luan from Lowe's or Home Depot..or do you really absolutely have to use the marine grade?

Would love to hear from someone who has built both...

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Marine Grade or carefully selected Luan

Try taking a piece of luan and boiling it to see if it comes unglued.   That should tell you a lot. 

I currently building my fourth boat, a Chester Yawl.  I opted for a kit this time because I wanted a pretty boat.  Prior boats were a couple of banks dories and a Bolger Sweet Pea.  All of them were made with Home Depot's best C-D plywood.  Couple of sheets of 1/4", one of 3/8" and a 16 foot PT 2x4 ripped into four lengths for the gunnl's.  The 1/4 is for sides and 3/8 for bottom/transom.  These boats were glassed only on the bottom and up the sides for 6", one coat of epoxy inside and painted with water based paint.  

I fish out of Little Harbor, have done the Snow Row a couple of times, rowed several times out of Kittery on New Year's Day and even cartopped to the Chesapeake.  

Bright Luan would be prettier than C-D, but if you paint, who would know? 

The Wood Ducks have some strong curves. I had a hard enough time closing the bow on my WD12 with okoume, which is stronger and more flexible than luan. This happens before glassing, so the glass will be no help at all during the initial construction.

Laszlo

i used 1/4 inch Luan on a small workboat and as Lazlo says, it doesn't bend well at all, particularly around compound curves.  Recommend against it.

Luan worked fine on a eastport pram. But then, not much bend.