painting problems

I'm new to all this and tried to find an answer to this on the forum, couldn't.

So, built my Chesapeake 16 in an all woman's class and time constraints meant finishing it at home.  The paint given us for the hull seems like a fine quality, I think I am the problem.  The paint does not  cover the fiber glass cloth evenly.  Parts of the boat (3rd coat) are fine and other areas show the weave of the fiberglass.  I have sanded between coats with 220, which the can suggests, and cleaned off the boat with paper towels and then a tack cloth, again as the can suggests.  I have allowed at least a day between coats. The problem may have preceded the first coat which was done in class.  The boat was wiped down with white vinegar but never washed with soap and water.

No one to ask here.  My husband has no idea what I should do, but you must.

Thanks, Karin

3 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: painting problems

The bad news is that paint is not going to fix the problem of the weave showing through. Paint, when dry, is going to be quite thin. Generally speaking, whatever defects you see in the substrate prior to painting you will see in the paint coat. Counterintuitively, paint actually shows more flaws than varnish.

The good news is that the fix is pretty easy. You'll probably have to remove most of the paint, though. Take a look at the weave that's showing through. If it's not pronounced you can probably put down two or three coats of primer, sand out and starting painting. If you can spray on the primer, so much the better. I would avoid high build primers that have a lot talc in them. They're not for below waterline at all.