multiple fiberglass layers question

Hey All,

I'm a first time builder and my shearwater project is going great.  This forum has been an invaluable resource.  In a few more days i will be ready start glassing the boat and i have some questions.  I have read a number of posts mentioning how threads on the edges of the reinforcement layers on the hull are a nuisance.  Someone mentioned placing the extra layers underneath the large, main piece to avoid this problem.  So, are threads really that much of a problem?  Will placing the smaller fibglass sections under the larger one result in any loss of strength? Are the ridges created when doing this easy to smooth out since you cant "feather" the edges of the underlying glass? Thanks for your input!

-Dan

6 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: multiple fiberglass layers question

Dan,

There's a good thread on this subject from a few months ago. I can't remember all the details, but the consensus seems to be that doing the multiple layers per the instructions is the way to go. The messy threads look like crap during the initial glassing, but disappear through sanding and additional coats of epoxy. There are tricks for minimizing loose threads, but they're not worth worrying about in my opinion.

Cheers,

Pat

I would just do it the way it is stated, the edges will feather out and disappear under the expoxy.....happy building .... Ocean

Here's a handy little tool for cutting fiberglass cloth on the bias. Makes nice clean edges that tend to not fray. Well worth the purchase for creating custom shaped, bias cut pieces for the stem and transom areas.

Rotary Cutter

http://www.newfound.com/tools.htm

Thanks for the info guys!  I'll stick with the manual's method.