Roll a Duck ?

Pardon the non build question but i had to ask... 

I'm just about done with my WD10 and was wondering if it will "roll".  I'm pretty new to kayaking and don't want to start trying to roll in my buddies pool if the WD10 won't do it.  The WD's look so stable this may not be the kayak to learn to roll in.

Anyone want to share experiences ?

Thanks

9 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Roll a Duck ?

I saw a video of someone rolling a wood duck on this forum.  I can't seem to find it now but I know that it is there.

He looked like a very good kayaker.  I don't think that it is very easy at all to do.

Lou

Link to WD12 rolling video

Beware. While the video is interesting and fun, it downloads slower than epoxy in winter.

Laszlo

Howdy Laz - LTNS! 

Sure a WD will roll! Pretty much any boat  will -- like everything else, it's only hard when you don't know how. It probably isn't the best boat to learn in, however; but then, it might be argued that tougher boats make for better accomplishments? Whatever, your best bet is to learn in an "easier" kayak that was designed with rolling in mind. I still love the Chessy 16 LT for playing in.

I never  got around to rolling my Mill Creek 13 only because there's little possibility for establishing a postive connection to the boat that won't rip my patellas off, and also because I don't have a spray skirt for it (although flooded boats can be rolled). I have no doubt it can be done, but gotta say....

....In boats like the MC13 and, I'm guessing, the WD series, the hard part is usually getting the thing to flip over. Rolling back up tends to be lots easier. I have rolled a number of short & wide "Tupperware" recreational kayaks just for general amusement, and they can be suprisingly difficult to flip over! But like I said, mostly easy to right, but you end up with flooded boat due to the large cockpit opening.

Cheers,

Kurt Maurer