cedar strip canoe

Hey I'm new to boat building and to this forum right now I'm building a small plywood yacht tender in my shop class I would like to build a cedar strip canoe and like to know a few things on how to asemble one the right way

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: cedar strip canoe

Hi Salamander,

I think this forum is your best tool. Lots of info in the strip construction section of the "Tips for boatbuilders"  tab if you haven't found it already. We just finished our first strip build (thanks for the compliment) and found the information here to be our best resource. I would advise you to pick out a beginer friendly design you like and get started. Solve the problems as they arise, and be patient.

We ripped our material with a circular saw and beveled the strips where needed instead of going bead and cove. The most used tools were a fine pull saw and block plane. Did I mention patience?

Good luck, do it.

Welcome to the forum, 

The best thing I can recomend is to get the books ( The Strip-Built Sea Kayak ) and ( Building Strip-Planked Boats ) both by Nick Schade.

Every thing you need to know  plus plans for several designs.  Building strip-Planked Boats has the plans for the Nymph Canoe.  A cedar strip canoe design.

This forum is a great place for information.

If you buy a cedar strip kit from CLC you will get Nick Schades book with it.

If you build from scratch, the books are a must have !!!

Good luck and have a blast building your canoe.

Lou

Thanks for the info on the books Iwas looking for a good boat book anways

I was wonderingwhat is wood flour

Thank you again for the info

I checked out the boat builders tips and the videos were most helpfull to figure out to glass and make the finish a really shinny

Is there a reason you beveled instead of bead and cove

i have gotten my plans picked out i want to do a chesnut kruge

Length16'
Beam (BOA)33-1/2""
Beam (BWL)29"
Weight55 lbs.