Getting started

Next week , i will receive the eastport pram kit. I have never done this before. any tips, suggestions or general advice before i start. thanks

7 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Getting started

Work calmly and patiently.  Whenever working with epoxy, factor in some time at the end of your work session to clean up squeeze out, drips, runs, etc. and to check alignment of parts.  Read your building manual, as many times as you need to.  There is a wealth of info on this site, read through it (e.g., Tips for Boatbuilders).  View CLC's boatbuilding video and perhaps other youtube videos.  And if you are ever stuck or unsure about a step, call CLC or post your question/concern here on the Forum.  Enjoy your build.

thank you. looking forward to it.

I am ALMOST done with my Eastport Pram that I started about a year ago (many disruptions / life events along the way); I've enjoyed the build a great deal.  Very good advice above from ootdb, and I would also add to try to work on the boat at least a little bit every day.  Whether it's just cleaning up the shop or actually doing work on the boat, just stay engaged in the project.  Good luck, and enjoy.

this whole epoxy thing has me concerned.  seems alot of posts about drips and problems with copper wire.

Hi model t,

I've done both copper wire and plastic ties, and do find the plastic to be easier.  I also like tabbing parts together with thickened epoxy, and then removing the ties or wires.  Then it becomes possible to cover the tiny narrow tabs with neater, narrow fillets.