Help! Guillemot Alignment

I am building a strip planked Guillemot L.  I just finished stripping the hull and till now I have been quite pleased with my progress.  This is my first attempt at building anything like this.  The hull is entirely western red cedar, bead and cove 3/4" strips glued using Titebond II.    

Here is what the bottom of the hull looks like so far:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nwbarryg/4749606143/sizes/l/in/set-72157624269578771/

I just flipped the hull to begin the deck and -- much to my chagrin -- the bow is misaligned.  It's curved off to starbord.  Here is a photo with a fine line strung over the center line - it goes from the far wall to my camera's tripod.  The full 12mp resolution photo is there if you want to see the detail.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nwbarryg/4749545005/sizes/l/in/set-72157624269578771/

The stern is off by about 1/16th - 1/8th of an inch.  I am fine with that.  It's not even noticeable without the string.  The bow, on the other hand, is off by roughly a half inch.  The misalignment starts where the stem frame attaches to the strongback.

I am not sure what to do now.  I am inclined to just ignore it and push on, but I'm not sure how it will look and paddle when it's completed.  I would be really bummed if it's an obvious flaw when it's completed.  Is there a way to straighten it out at this point?  I have contemplated just throwing out the hull and starting over.  That would really suck but wouldn't be the end of the world.,, 

What are your thoughts/suggestions?  Your responses are much appreciated! 

Thanks,

Barry

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Help! Guillemot Alignment

If you had not posted your note, you would be the only one to notice it. (But you will ALWAYS notice it.)

Good luck, it shoud be great and perform just the same,

Pete. 

Barry,