Nanuck of the North

Posted by Kurt Maurer on Jun 2, 2004

Hey gang, I performed my first couple hunnerd Eskimo rolls today! Hot DAWG, I'm so happy! In fact, I rolled right up on the second assisted attempt, and went solo starting with my fourth endeavor. It's EASY! In a backyard swimming pool wearing nose clip and eye goggles, anyway.

I got the Derek C. Hutchinson book "Eskimo Rolling" the day before yesterday, and eagerly devoured the first 50 pages or so (I wonder what page of "The Strip-Built Sea Kayak" Peter is on today?). I never got around to practicing the dry land drills he shows, but I studied 'em closely... And then Brian, my new-found old buddy, demonstrated a few rolls while I watched attentively, then had me practice the "hip flick" a few times while holding his hand (awwwww!). When he saw I was able to hip-flick upright with minimal pressure on his mitt, he let me sit upside down once or twice to get the feel of it. No problem there, so he gave me my paddle. For the first attempt, I capsized myself, and he guided my paddle to the start position and then in the direction of the sweeping stroke I wanted to use in order to prevent a really nasty demise... which was a good thing, since it went in a direction I wasn't quite expecting... despite the fact that being upside down was no particular hardship on me (again I credit flying for helping me with kayaking), and that I had a pretty good idea of what I needed to do. The stroke itself is really a simple one; the trick is to coordinate it with the hip-flick. Flicking the hips is NOT a big deal. In fact, I have been practicing it forever and didn't even realize what I was doing. I love to sit in a kayak and wiggle it from side to side, and that, my dear, is practicing the hip-flick. How 'bout that? The lay-back part came naturally, it was like leaning back when getting ready to lift a bale of hay up into a truck. You just do it.