new project - kayak couture

i thought i would send a picture of my in-progress project for my wife.

first, thanks to Mark Nye (consistent forum contributor) in florida for sharing a lot of ideas with me.  the design requirement began with a new boat for my wife at 105 lbs.  a high-performance, easy-for-her-to-carry, good looking boat.   basically 'kayak couture'.

not a lot of stuff in the commercial space for petit folks....and after a lot of consultations, i am building on Mark's idea of a 90% frej (15 feet by 19 inches) with help from CLC cutting the forms from the designers files and selling all the materials san's some specialty items.

now here is the trick on this build.   a goal of a complete, outfitted build weight of 22 lbs.

i have some experience doing light builds ( i have a 30lb petrel)  so i am not totally off my rocker....but the jury is still out.  based on a detailed bill of material spreadsheet and layup and checking all the figures....that's what the engineering says is theoretically possible.

so what are the key ingredients?

• tight stripping with minimum gaps that only gain weight
  • 3/16 thick strips
  • minimilist layup schedule and will use s-glass (vs e-glass) with minimal patches for abrasion (becuase it is light enough to be carried).
  • excrutiating attention to the upcoming epoxy work
  • dispose with adjustable foot peg system  (amazingly heavy when you are a weight weenie)  and use closed cell foam for bulkheads and foot rest system
  • no screws or metal fitting
  • occasional strategic use of carbon fibre and kevlar

anyway....so far a very interesting project and am glad that i finally got started.

my wifes current boat is a Chesapeake 14....very nice....but it was time for an upgrade:)

will keep you all posted.

h

22 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: new project - kayak couture

All I can say is -- Wow! That is going to be quite the boat! Fast AND light! Keep us posted.