Me or the boat?

I am new to kayaking, thought I'd take up the sport. I got a plastic kayak for cheap (had a hole, I fixed it) while I finish saving up to build a real one (C17). I went out paddling today and all I could basically do is turn left, even if I'll I did was paddle on the left. I would get going semi striaght and then spin left, a few times to right but almost always left. I am lost on the problem, I don't know if it is the boat or the user (me).

Here are pics of the boat:

http://picasaweb.google.com/107267314409083170158/BlueKayak?feat=directlink

Any ideas would help, thanks!

23 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Me or the boat?

I am not an expert but i would say you. Thank yak is gonna be hard to make go straight with out good from. The bottom is round and will be very sensitive to "twisting" of your lower body at the hip while you are paddling. It is a white water boat and made to "not" track straight thus making it more manuverable(sp?) i had just the reverse problem with my millcreek 13, i had a hard time not going straight as the CLC boats are "hard chined" boats and are designed to track straight. i hope what i said helps....just work on form alittle and youll get use to it.

Yeah, that looks like an old Dancer - a whitewater kayak. It is absolutely designed to turn, not go in straight lines - just what you need for whitewater river running, rather than paddling on a lake.

So, you will always have a problem going anywhere on flatwater, in that boat. As for only turning left, well, was the wind blowing? Weathercocking (the boat always wants to turn into the wind)is a common occurrence in many kayaks, and might well be especially pronounced in a ww boat like yours. Lee cocking - the boat wanting to turn away from the wind is another, less common occurrence.

It might just have been your stroke, too, though a combination of all 3 (hull shape, weathercocking, and techniques) issues is the most likely problem.