Varathane Diamond Spar Urethane

Has anyone had experiencing using this, or other water-based polyurethane finishes? This claims to  be designed for outside use, with UV protection, etc.  I'd be using it on the inside of my Annapolis Wherry; I'm painting the outside.

What looks attractive about this product:

• Harder finish seems like a fine idea since it's on top of coat of epoxy.
  • Non-yellowing--an aesthetic question, but I like the current color of the wood and am not sure I need the classic yellow varnish look.
  • Water-based cleanup and presumably less-noxious vapors.
  • No need to sand between every coat... I must admit I'm getting tired of sanding. :-)

Any experience or advice most appreciated!

8 replies:

« Previous Post       List of Posts       Next Post »

RE: Varathane Diamond Spar Urethane

I'm not a pro finisher but I've had good results both spraying and brushing "water-based" clear finishes.

They're like water-based paints in that you don't have much time to brush them out. You have to get them laid on quickly and evenly and move on down the line. It's very important to plan your brushing strategy and to brush back to a wet edge.

They are more "water-white" than oil-based varnishes are are said not to yellow. In my experience, they're a little cloudy, compared to oil-base.

Unless they've upped their game recently, water-based "varnishes" (they're not truly a varnish, but an acrylic or acrylic/polyurethane blend) are less resistant to solvents, acids and alkalis than oil-based varnishes, but of more concern to a boatbuilder, they are weaker barrier to water and water vapor. They are very hard and scratch resistant.

The glycol ethers that are the solvents for water-based finishes are very toxic, but small amounts are used so there's not a lot evaporating into the atmosphere. Of the two types of glycol ethers, ethylenes and propylenes, propylenes are the less toxic.

I'm surprised to hear that you don't need to sand between coats. 

JW